No-Confidence Motion Live Updates: Shiv Sena to abstain from voting

The Lok Sabha has a total strength of 545. Excluding the Speaker and 10 seats that are presently vacant, this falls to 545. Besides this, two MPs Baijayant Jay Panda (of Biju Janata Dal) and Jose K Mani (of the Kerala Congress Party) have resigned ahead of the trust vote. With this, the effective strength falls to 533 and the magic figure is 266.

Of the total membership in the Lok Sabha, 313 MPs are from the ruling NDA. This comprise 274 (including the Speaker) of the BJP, 18 of Shiv Sena, six of Lok Jantantrik Party and four of the Shiromani Akali Dal.

On the other hand, Opposition parties have a combined strength of 222 MPs. This includes: 63 of the Congress-led UPA, 37 of AIADMK, 34 of the Trinamool congress, 20 of Bjiu Janata Dal, 16 of Telegu Desam Party and 11 of the Telangana Rashtra Samiti. Read more

Updated: July 20, 2018 — 8:36 am