No-confidence motion Live Updates: NDA has the numbers, Opposition has agenda

According to the Lok Sabha website, the House has 535 members. This makes 268 the half-way mark for the BJP-led NDA government to achieve during voting on the no-confidence motion in the Lok Sabha.

Of the total membership in the Lok Sabha, 313 belong to the ruling NDA including 274 (including the Speaker) of the BJP, 18 of Shiv Sena, six LJP and four SAD.

The Opposition parties have 222 MPs including 63 of the Congress-led UPA, 37 of AIADMK, 34 of TMC, 20 BJD, 16 TDP and 11 TRS. The AIADMK and the BJD are considered as neutral parties in the Opposition bloc and they may abstain during voting on no-confidence motion.

Updated: July 19, 2018 — 2:19 pm