No-confidence motion Live: Parliament takes up no-trust vote against Modi government…

The Lok Sabha debated on Friday a no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s government moved by the opposition.

The government has said it is confident of its numbers and that it was looking forward to a debate in which it can showcase its achievements during the first no-trust vote on the floor of Parliament in 15 years.

The Telugu Desam Party (TDP), an estranged ally of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government, moved the no-confidence motion on Wednesday, which was admitted by Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan.

The no-confidence motion has the support of the Congress, Trinamool Congress (TMC), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Samajwadi Party (SP), and the Communist Party of India (Marxist), or CPI(M), a bitter rival of the TMC, among others.

The ruling party, however, has a comfortable numerical edge with 273 members in the House with an effective strength of 533, excluding the Speaker.

Here are the Live updates on the no-confidence motion: 

11:26am IST

Shiv Sena decides

Shiv Sena MPs will not attend Parliament today, thus abstaining from voting during the no-confidence motion, says news agency ANI.

11:25am IST

BJP equally guilty for Andhra’s situation: TDP

Not just Congress but BJP is “equally guilty” of the bill that hurt Andhra Pradesh: TDP

11:20am IST

Meanwhile, Shiv Sena meeting continues outside Lok Sabha

Shiv Sena parliamentary party meeting continues in Parliament building. The MPs haven’t reached Lok Sabha yet for discussion on no-confidence motion.

11:16am IST

TDP lashes out at BJP

It is not a war between TDP and BJP. It is a war between majority and morality… it is against “Machiavillian” politics and “authoritarianism”: Jayadev Galla says, adding that the Modi government has “betrayed” Andhra Pradesh.

Andhra’s issues are national issues too, the lawmaker says. In response, BJP leaders protest as the Speaker asks them to return to their seats.  

11:15am IST

TDP moves no-confidence motion

TDP lawmaker Jayadev Galla initiates debate on no-confidence motion, says it is the “most important” discussion in modern Indian history. Modi government’s performance and non-implementation is a “saga of empty promises”. 

11:10am IST

BJD walks out ahead of no-confidence motion

Biju Janata Dal MPs have walked out of Lok Sabha, following the promise of abstaining from voting during the no-confidence motion.

11:05am IST

No-trust vote at 6pm

Lok Sabha speaker Sumitra Mahajan says the no-trust vote will take place at 6pm today. The lunch hour will be skipped for discussion. Opposition MPs ask her for more time to speak after reports say 38 minutes have been allotted for the Congress party leaders to address Parliament.

11am IST

Lok Sabha proceedings begin

Lok Sabha convenes to discuss and take the no-confidence motion on the third day of monsoon session.

10:45am IST

PM Modi meets Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh

PM Narendra Modi is holding a meeting with senior BJP leaders Amit Shah and Rajnath Singh in Parliament.

10:42am IST

Shiv Sena still taking its call?

News agency ANI reports that Shiv Sena MPs Amit Desai, Arvind Sawant and Anant Geete are present at a parliamentary party meeting before the Lok Sabha proceeding begins at 11am.

Notably, Shiv Sena lashed out at BJP in its mouthpiece ‘Saamana’, accusing it of using allies only when the need arises. The editorial also said the “no-confidence motion is not to dissolve the government, but to make it stand like an accused in a cage and peal its skin”.

10:41am IST

Insufficient time to highlight issues, says Congress

Is this time sufficient for us to highlight issues of 130 crore Indians and faults of this govt? Each party should get 30 minutes, but 38 minutes have been allotted to the largest opposition party. The no-confidence motion can’t be treated like question hour: Mallikarjun Kharge,Congress

10:40am IST

Rahul Gandhi to speak at 11:30am

TV reports say Congress president Rahul Gandhi will address Lok Sabha at 11:30am. Experts say the no-confidence motion against the Modi government can be a show for Opposition unity ahead of 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

10:25am IST

Amit Shah, BJP leaders show victory signs

BJP president Amit Shah arrives in Parliament with BJP leaders Vijay Goel and Ananth Kumar.

10:15am IST

Leaders who will speak today

Home minister Rajnath Singh, and MPs Rakesh Singh, Virendra Singh Mast and Arjun Ram Meghwal will speak from the government’s behalf on no-confidence motion in the Lok Sabha today.

Party president Rahul Gandhi and Mallikarjun Kharge will speak for Congress, while Trinamool Congress will be represented by Saugata Roy and Sudip Bandopadhyaya. CPM leader Mohammed Salim will also address Parliament today.

10:05am IST

Two TMC lawmakers will not vote in no-confidence motion

Two MPs of the Trinamool Congress will not be present during the no-confidence motion. Party chief Mamata Banerjee’s nephew Abhishek Banerjee, who represents Diamond Harbour constituency, and Subrata Bakshi, from Kolkata Dakshin (West Bengal), are busy with organising a rally on July 21.

10:00am IST

Watch: How the numbers stack up for BJP, Opposition

9:50am IST

Kapil Sibal says people waiting for ‘change’ in 2019

Ahead of no-confidence motion in Parliament, Congress leader Kapil Sibal says people have “no confidence” in the Modi government and they are waiting for a “change in 2019”.

“No Confidence: In the government… In the Rupee at an all time low of 69.05… In investigating agencies… People are waiting to vote for change in 2019.” 

9:20am IST

TRS MPs to abstain from voting?

TV reports say eleven TRS lawmakers will abstain from voting during the no-confidence motion. They are likely to stage a walkout on Friday.

9:00am IST

Three PMs who have lost no-confidence motion

Friday’s no-trust vote is the first no-confidence motion to be moved in the Lok Sabha over the last 15 years. Before this, VP Singh, Deve Gowda and Atal Bihari Vajpayee are the only three prime ministers who lost the no-confidence motion.

Read full story here

8:15am IST

What parties have said so far

BJP confident of defeating no-trust vote with ⅔ support. “We will not disclose the numbers, but you will see NDA-plus in the Lok Sabha,” parliamentary affairs minister Ananth Kumar said.

The Congress has said today’s no-confidence motion is more than a show of numbers, and the party wants to “expose” the Modi government’s “failure”.

BJP ally Shiv Sena keeps its cards close, but it has asked its MPs to remain in Delhi. On Thursday, the party withdrew its whip to MPs asking them to vote in favour of Modi government.

CPI(M) ready to join hands with opposition parties. “The party’s primary task is to oust the BJP-led NDA government, which is in the interest of the country and its people,” said general secretary Sitaram Yechury.

8:00am IST

PM Modi tweets ahead of no-confidence motion

Updated: July 20, 2018 — 11:42 am